CHOREOGRAPHER. 

PERFORMANCE ARTIST. 

INNOVATOR.

Wilkins's creative research and projects are rooted in the interconnections of American contemporary performance, cultural history, and identities of Black men. His projects examine the raced dancing body and the ways that ritual can access forms of knowledge. Intrigued by ideas about indeterminacy in creative process and performance, he approaches performance and pedagogy as means of re-framing perspectives, creative practices, and technical training. In his intermedia collaborations he works with artists from a wide range of disciplines, including film, video, and design.

HELANIUS

J. WILKINS

SCREENING SPOTLIGHT

The short film DIRT has been selected to screen at the 2021 Braga International Video Dance Festival in Braga, Portugal

OFFICIAL SELECTION - BRAGA INTERNATIONAL

UPCOMING EVENTS

March 10, 2021

Emerging Masculinities: Evolving Beyond Toxic Conventions, Binaries and Paradigms - A Grounded Knowledge Panel

A Grounded Knowledge Panel™ (GKP) through the Center for Teaching & Learning mediated by Donna Mejia (Associate Professor, Department of Theatre & Dance and CTL Faculty Fellow) and Valerie Joseph (AEMES Mentoring Coordinator, Smith College).

This event will be a public conversation by a small group of people who have realistic, authentic and personal experience and understanding of a particular topic or question. While the Grounded Knowledge Panelists converse among themselves, the audience members (“witnesses” in the GKP model) observe the discussion, thus both groups — panelists and witnesses — bring a distinctive power and depth to the experience of speaking and listening.

8pm - 9:15pm EST/ 7pm - 8:15pm CST / 6pm - 7:15pm MST / 5pm - 6:15pm PST

Virtual via Zoom

March 6, 2021

RAD Fest

The Dance of Social Justice

In this Artist Talk, Helanius explores how his identity and experiences shape his art investigating, making, and performance practices that are rooted in resilience and resistance. The talk will be followed by a Q & A. 

About RAD Fest: 

Wellspring Presents the 12 th Annual Midwest Regional Alternative Dance Festival (RAD Fest) KALAMAZOO,
MI –Wellspring/Cori Terry & Dancers is excited to present the 12th annual RAD Fest in a virtual format for the very first time on March 5-7th, 2021. RAD Fest 2021 will feature the work of over 200 choreographers, filmmakers, movement installation artists, and dance educators from all over the world in virtual concerts, screendance presentations, master classes, artist talk-backs, interactive lectures/discussions, audience Q & A sessions, and movement installations.

1:30pm - 3pm EST / 12:30pm - 2pm CST / 11:30am - 1pm MST /10:30am - 12pm PST

Virtual via HopIn

FOLLOW 

HELANIUS